The Pitfalls of Non-denominational Churches

Renae Nicole
4 min readApr 17, 2020

I attend a non-denominational church, and I plan to keep visiting that type of church for the rest of my days. Though this is the “denomination” for me, non-denominational churches have their downfall. Nothing is perfect.

Non-denominational churches, to put it politely, threw out any documents or theologies apart from the Bible. They don’t use the catechism, any creeds of Christendom, or TULIP. These Christians did something radical and went back to the source of their religion.

That’s fine, but that’s hundreds of years of arguing wasted. Scholars spent two thousand years discussing, writing books, and tearing the church apart to make those doctrines. I wonder how many hours lost, pages used, and relationships ruined because Christians took stances on different issues. Then the non-denominational church threw it out.

Someone put it this way: non-denominational Christians feel that it doesn’t matter if we disagree on doctrine; that’s not what is going to get us into heaven, so why fight over it? And I agree with that statement. I was the odd teen in my parent’s church, asking why the debate between infant and adult baptism was necessary.

--

--

Renae Nicole

Certified Personal Trainer | Health Coach | Nutrition Coach | Worldview: Christianity